Posted 02 August 2017 10:29


The fixtures for the upcoming National League Series were recently confirmed and released by The President of the Federation, Mr. Francis Karugu. The Series will commence on 30th September and it promises to be one of the most competitive one yet.

All the participating teams will receive a major boost having been promised a new set of equipment by the Federation, a move that aims to ensure that the players will be able to train well and improve the overall level of the Sport in the Country.

According to Mr. Karugu, the Federation is expecting a consignment of starter kits from WBSC and these will be of great benefit since the main challenge facing the Teams is lack of or worn out equipment.

Among the expected teams are Dedan Kimathi University of Technology (Nyeri Rebels), JKUAT (Team Wisdom), Multimedia University (Stormers), Nazarene University (Crusaders), Egerton University and Kenyatta University.

JKUAT will look to defend the title that they clinched earlier this year at the Softball National League Playoffs in Mombasa and there will be no shortage of capable opposition who'll be looking to claim the title from them.

A competitive National League is likely to translate into a stronger National Team and with the National team having missed out on the recently concluded World Championships due to lack of funds, the players will be more hungry and determined to not miss out on the future events.

By Isaac Oduory