Posted 03 October 2018 16:06

The First series of the 2018/2019 Kenya National Softball League took place this past weekend at The Dedan Kimathi University of Technology (DEKUT) in Nyeri County, home of the Nyeri Rebels Ball Club.


Photo courtesy: Nyeri Rebels Ball Club

The home team did remarkably well in ensuring that the two pitches were marked and ready for the tournament, these would later be the battlefields for the Men and Women's games through the weekend.

The Tournament enjoyed a fair share of National representation as the teams present for the games were MMU ‘Stormers’ from Nairobi county, KU ‘Sheriffs’ from Kiambu county, ANU ‘Crusaders’ from Kajiado county and University of Eldoret (UOE) from Uasin Gishu county who were making their first appearance in the National League.

A round robin schedule was formulated where teams were pitted against each other for three innings each, with winners being awarded 7 points, a draw would have both teams scoop 3 points each whereas a loss would give zero points.

The first game pitted last season’s champions Kenyatta University against the veterans Multi-media University with the sheriffs winning by 13 runs to 7. The women’s games started with the hosts DeKUT facing African Nazarene University and the hosts recorded a 9 - 7 win. Other results from the series were as follows;


After the final match between DEKUT and KU on Sunday afternoon, the winning teams (KU-MEN and MMU-WOMEN) and the First runners up in both Men’s and Women’s games were each awarded with trophies.

The best pitchers namely SIMON OKEYO (KU) and ELIZABETH WAIRIMU NJAU (MMU) were also recognized and awarded with trophies for their brilliant individual performances.

L-R: Simon Okeyo and Elizabeth Wairimu posing with the trophies awarded for their outstanding performances.

The New league debutants, The UOE were forced to end their tournament participation earlier than expected as they had to travel back to their Institution after Saturday's games. However, they still managed to earn points in the overall season table which seems to be a replica of last year’s final table standings.


By Benson Kahugu.